That was 2014 then and 2015 has just begun. 2014, all in all, was a great year. In a nutshell: I’ve won a bronze medal at the British Middle Distance Triathlon Champs, raced the European Champs in Kitzbühel, got a new half marathon PB, finished my first marathon, volunteered at the Commonwealth Games and much more. It was a year of highs and lows, elation and disappointment, lots of laughs and great joy. I was fortunate to have the support of my family and some amazing friends (David and Sarah) and a brilliant group of companies including Elivar, Natural Hero, Speedhub, Prowell Helmets, Après Recovery. Competition prizes from CEP greatly enhanced my training. I also met some fantastic people during my challenges who made all the experiences special. Thank you! With your help training and racing was a lot easier and life much more fun.

They say ‘a picture says a thousand word’s’, so I’ll spare you the words. Here’s my 2014 review, the summary of the Challenge/ Celebration Year, in pictures.

JANUARY image Run to Andy Murray’s golden postbox in Dunblane. image 80s themed Eastbourne ParkRun.

FEBRUARY image Finished the Longman, where an 18 miler turned into 22. image Bike fit with Tim from Speedhub to get me ready for a lot of riding.

MARCH image Eastbourne half marathon. 5th lady overall. Followed up a week later with a massive PB at the Clydebank Half Marathon.

APRIL image Conquered the cobbles of the Tour of Flanders.

MAY image Hobbled round the Green Park Royal Berkshire 10k. 5th lady overall. image Settled score with the bike course in Hyde Park at the WTS race in London. 3rd in my age group. Rock star! (Thanks, @tri247!)

JUNE image Mid-Sussex Tri (great race, recommend). 3rd lady. image Brownlee (Tri) Duathlon. 4th lady. image image ETU Triathlon Championships in Kitzbühel. 9th in my age group, 4th Brit.

JULY image Awesome swim at the Long Course Weekend. image Rubbish ride in the rain at the Long Course Weekend, where we got crashed into, my bike suffered a bent rear mech, and I rode the last 30km with 3 gears. (Never doing this again!) image Age group win at the half marathon of the Long Course Weekend. (I’ll be back!) image Commonwealth Games volunteering fun: Papua-New Guinea at the press conference after winning the dress rehearsal from England and Australia.

AUGUST image More fun at the Commonwealth Games. image Awesome bronze medal in my age group at the British Middle Distance Triathlon Championships in Aberfeldy. First attempt at Half-Ironman distance. image Part of UKRunChat Team Red at the Spitfire Scramble 24hr race.

SEPTEMBER image Garmin Ride Out in the New Forest. image FriendsLife London Ride. Closed roads, oh yeah. image Equinox24 24hr race with Sarah and Stu. Run/walked 80km on dodgy ankle (my physio was not impressed).

OCTOBER image image image Finished my first ever marathon in Frankfurt (nope, my physio wasn’t impressed with that one either). NOVEMBER image image Last Eastbourne ParkRun before moving to Birmingham and resting a lot (didn’t even tell the physio about this one).

DECEMBER image image image Foot Gym, new pool and the bike of doom: back in training!

2014 was pretty ace. 2015 will be great, given I get my dodgy ankle sorted. Good luck to you all in the new year! May your motivation last and all your hard work pay off in 2015.

