You may have seen my carefully laid out season plan with all the challenges in it. You may have also seen that earlier in the year I have made some short notice adaptations to the plan, like adding Part 2 to my March challenge. You may also know that I like to support events by volunteering if I’m not racing myself. And you may know that I like to enter the odd Twitter or Facebook competition of events and brands I like. Why am I telling you all this? Because it has happened again! I have been given the opportunity to race in two very special races: the age group race at the ITU World Triathlon Series in Hyde Park (1st June) and the Macmillan Brownlee Tri South at Petworth House (15th June).

Incidentally, both races take place on days when I intended to race anyways, but it means adjusting locations and travel plans. On the 15th in the evening I’m off to the ETU Triathlon Championships in Kitzbühel, so logistics are tricky. It also means I will miss the Brett Ashford Triathlon though, one of my favourite events. But how could I pass on opportunities like these?

image

On June 1st, I will get the opportunity to go back to Hyde Park and redeem myself for the poor bike leg I had last year at the ITU World Championships for age groupers. Although the bike course will not leave Hyde Park this time, I still see the race as an opportunity to properly race the course.

My entry to this race was courtesy of Dassi Bikes, the official bike sponsor of the ITU WTS Hyde Park races, who offered two entries to the race to two lucky winners. I will be racing the Standard Distance race and my wave is off at 9.10am on Sunday.

On the Saturday, everyone has the chance to watch the elite paratriathlon (8am start), men (14.30) and women (16.05) completely free of charge. It will be the most exciting racing with the big Gomez vs Brownlee bash, though I think that over the Sprint distance Mola and Murray will have a word to say due to the shorter swim and their amazing run speed.

image

And speaking of the Brownlees… On 15th June, I will have the opportunity to  race at beautiful Petworth House (West Sussex) in a Sprint distance race. It will be a fantastic event, not least because the Brownlees will be there and give out prizes (not that I expect to win one).

image

Having been a Games Maker at the Olympics, we are now encouraged to stay involved, continue volunteering and support our local sporting communities to get involved. Every once in a while there are some fantastic opportunities only open to Games Makers. This was one of them.

image

The Be Inspired initiative offered 20 places to the Brownlee Tri and I was one of the very fortunate people to get one. Volunteering at the Olympics has been one of the most fantastic experiences. I look forward to being a ClydeSider at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow and help make that event fantastic, too. Volunteering is incredibly rewarding in so many ways. So check-out Be Inspired and get involved!

