Yes, 2014 is already a couple of days old and you’d expect a post on my grand plans for 2014 (which is coming, because to me it is a special year). But it’s a good tradition to review the happenings of the past year, learn from mistakes and then launch into the whole planning the new year.

To spare you the lengthy story telling and because pictures speak a thousand words, I have decided to give you pictures (and very few words). So enough with me talking, here are the pictures:

January
image

Mainly a training month with lots of long runs on the South Downs.

February
image

Muddy run at the Sussex Masters XC Championships.
image

Lovely winter ride to Bexhill.

Unfortunately, I also tweaked my leg again doing a hill session on a golf course in Gloucestershire. Not great, considering the qualifier for the ETU Sprint Duathlon Championships was 4 days later.

March
image

ETU Sprint Duathlon qualifier at Althorp. I finished. I qualified. The end.

image

Oulton Park Spring Duathlon (2 weeks later). I love that course, and not just because I was 3rd overall. Things are looking up.

image

Won a VIP trip to the Tour of Flanders. Things definitely looking up.

April
image

Silver medal at the European Sprint Duathlon Championships in Horst/ NL. Despite everything.

May
image

First triathlon of the year: Chichester Sprint. The water was baltic. 3rd place. All on course.

June
image

1/06: Deva Triathlon: ITU World Championship London qualifier. First Olympic Distance race, 7th in AG. Narrowly missed a qualifying spot.

image

04/06 Won VIP tickets to Tour Series in Redditch. Awesome day!

image

09/06 German Sprint Triathlon Championships in Darmstadt. Conditions horrendous (pouring rain). 2nd in AG. All engines go.

image

image

image

15/06 European Sprint Triathlon Championships in Alanya/ TUR: 4th in AG, 9th female overall. Gutted, but happy, but gutted.

July
Motivational blackhole, but still chasing a place at London.

image

British Olympic Distance Championships at Liverpool. Excellent swim, the rest is silence. 11th in AG, but HOORAH! an outright London spot because others ahead have qualified already or are not eligible.

August
image

The Owler Sprint Triathlon in Ashford. 1st female overall – ever. New 750m swim PB. Happy girl. Motivation back.

3 days later, I did a run session with a group in Cheltenham, tripped up on the last rep. Leg jarred again, could barely walk for 2 weeks. Insert choice of swear word.

September
image

01/09 Newbiggin Sprint Triathlon. Now chasing ETU qualifying place for Kitzbühel 2014. The race that I nearly forgot. Only realised 2 days before I’d confused the date. Panic booking of rental car, B&B and packing. Only objective: see if body holds together reasonably pain free as I haven’t had a pain free session since beginning of August. 2nd in AG, 6th overall. Qualification for Sprint. Sorted.

15/09 World Triathlon Championships London

image

image

image

Excellent swim. Body broke on the bike, so decided to enjoy the atmosphere as much as I could. Waved and high-fived and smiled on the run (and bizarrely passed quite a few people). I finished and had my 30 sec of fame, getting major announcement including my Twitter handle (@XfmGirl). Oops!

image

22/09 Anglian Water Tri. Olympic Distance qualifier for ETU Championships 2014 in Kitzbühel. Fabulous swim PB, the rest was struggle. Got qualifying spot. Job done.

Now REST!

October
image

Beachy Head 10k: after 6 weeks of doing NOTHING to let my body recover and fix itself, I returned to action with a bit of fun: trail running.

November

image

Helvellyn Trails. Weather horrendous. But the joy of running is back.

And this is where I’ll stop, because MY new year started in the middle of November. So look out what’s in store.

